The NAPHIA 2026 State of the Industry Report confirmed 95.73% of U.S. pets still carry no insurance โ not because owners don’t care, but because the system is confusing enough that most people don’t know where to start. This guide cuts to what actually matters: who covers what, what the exclusions really mean, and which providers fit which situations.
A U.S. News survey found 1 in 3 pet owners now spend more on their dog’s health each month than on their own. Pet insurance can make that spending predictable โ but only if you understand exactly how it works before you need it.
Almost all pet insurance works on a reimbursement model. You pay the vet in full at checkout, submit the itemized invoice through the insurer’s app or website, and receive money back โ typically within 3 to 15 business days. Lemonade reimbursed about 40% of claims instantly through AI-based review in recent data. Trupanion is the main exception: its VetDirect Pay system interfaces directly with enrolled clinic software and pays the clinic on your behalf at checkout. You only pay your deductible and any excluded costs at the desk. If avoiding the upfront payment matters โ especially for large surprise bills โ Trupanion or Healthy Paws’s newer Direct Pay option are the providers to prioritize.
A waiting period is the gap between when your policy starts and when claims become eligible. The standard breakdown: accidents carry a 2โ5 day waiting period, illnesses 14 days. Orthopedic conditions โ cruciate ligament tears, hip dysplasia โ often have an extended wait of 6 months at most companies, up to 12 months at some. The trap nobody warns about: if your dog starts limping the week after you enroll, that limp โ even without a formal diagnosis โ can be flagged as a pre-existing symptom when you file a cruciate repair claim six months later. The documented visit, not the diagnosis, is what creates the exclusion. Enroll when your dog is visibly healthy, before anything appears in the vet record.
In most cases, yes. Pre-existing exclusions are condition-specific โ not a total policy denial. Every new illness or injury that develops after enrollment is still coverable. A diabetic dog won’t have insulin costs covered, but if it develops cancer, tears a ligament on the other leg, or needs emergency GI surgery, those are new events. Some companies go further: Pets Best, Spot, ASPCA, and Nationwide cover curable pre-existing conditions after 180 days symptom-free. Before enrolling, call the company’s claims line โ not sales โ describe the specific condition, and ask whether they classify it as curable or incurable. Get it in writing.
Annual deductibles reset every policy year. You pay it once, then your reimbursement rate applies to all covered claims for the rest of that year โ no matter how many incidents occur. Most providers use this model. Trupanion uses a per-condition deductible: you pay it once per condition, for life, and never pay it again for that same condition. This structure is particularly valuable for chronic conditions โ a dog managing allergies or recurring orthopedic issues never has its deductible reset annually for the same ongoing problem. The trade-off: every new condition your dog develops triggers a fresh deductible. For young, generally healthy dogs who encounter one or two significant problems, Trupanion’s lifetime-per-condition model often saves the most money over time.
The NAPHIA 2026 State of Industry Report โ the industry’s authoritative data source โ puts the national average at approximately $70 per month for accident-and-illness dog coverage, up 11.5% from the prior year as veterinary costs continue to outpace general inflation by a meaningful margin. Individual premiums vary significantly. Insurify’s June 2026 data puts the median at $43/month for a more typical mid-range dog profile. Your actual quote depends on breed (French Bulldogs and large breeds cost 40โ80% more than same-age mixed breeds), age (a 15-year-old dog can cost 238% above national average), ZIP code (Alaska and Massachusetts are the most expensive states; Mississippi is the cheapest), and your chosen deductible and reimbursement rate.
It means the insurer pays 90% of the covered amount โ not 90% of your total vet bill. The covered amount is what remains after your deductible and any excluded costs (exam fees if not covered, pre-existing condition charges, grooming) are subtracted. A practical example: $4,200 ACL surgery bill, $500 annual deductible already met, $75 exam fee excluded. Covered amount: $4,200 โ $75 = $4,125. Insurance pays 90%: $3,712. You pay $413 plus the exam fee. Out-of-pocket: roughly $488 on a $4,200 bill. That math changes dramatically if your deductible hasn’t been met yet โ understanding the sequence (exam fee removed, then deductible subtracted, then reimbursement percentage applied) is what separates owners who feel insured from those who feel misled.
For most adult dogs, the math is close to break-even: the typical wellness add-on costs $20โ$40 extra per month and reimburses roughly the same amount in annual exams, vaccines, and parasite prevention. Where it genuinely pays: the first year of puppyhood, when a full vaccine series, spay or neuter surgery, microchipping, and multiple checkups can total $800โ$1,200 in a single year. For an adult dog in stable health, consider skipping the wellness add-on and putting that $25/month into a dedicated vet fund instead. The accident-and-illness plan is where the real financial protection lives โ the intestinal blockage, the torn ligament, the cancer diagnosis. Direct your premium dollars there first.
Not necessarily. Pets Best has no upper age limit. Most others allow enrollment up to 10โ14 years. The challenge at 9: the vet record carries more documented history, which means more potential pre-existing exclusions. But a healthy senior dog with a clean record can still get meaningful coverage for new conditions that arise โ a cancer diagnosis at 10 could cost $5,000โ$10,000 in treatment. The math still works if the dog has no serious chronic conditions. Get quotes from Pets Best, Spot, and ASPCA. Ask each for a written list of what would be excluded based on your dog’s specific records before paying a single premium.
These aren’t ranked by advertising spend. They’re described by what actually makes each one useful, who each fits best, and where each falls short. Read two or three that match your situation before getting quotes.
Trupanion operates differently from every other provider: its deductible is per-condition, paid once per condition for the life of your policy. Once paid, ongoing treatment for that same condition is covered at 90% indefinitely โ no annual reset. This is the single most valuable structure for dogs with ongoing conditions like allergies, recurring orthopedic issues, or any chronic diagnosis that develops post-enrollment. Its VetDirect Pay system pays the clinic directly at checkout at enrolled clinics, meaning your out-of-pocket at the desk is only your deductible and non-covered costs โ no waiting for reimbursement. There is no annual or lifetime payout limit. Optional add-ons include Recovery and Complementary Care, a Breeding Rider, and Pet Owner Assistance. No wellness plan available. Waiting periods: 5 days for injuries, 30 days for illness โ slightly longer than industry standard for illness.
Healthy Paws offers exactly one plan โ no confusing tiers, no upsells. A single accident-and-illness policy with customizable deductibles ($100โ$500) and reimbursement rates (70%, 80%, 90%). No annual or lifetime maximum on payouts, which matters most when a dog develops cancer or needs multiple surgeries over several years. A newer Direct Pay option lets Healthy Paws send payment directly to enrolled clinics rather than reimbursing you. All policies include unlimited virtual vet visits through Airvet โ a meaningful add-on for middle-of-the-night questions that might otherwise mean a costly ER trip. The honest limitation: Healthy Paws does not cover exam fees by default. Enrollment must happen before the dog’s 14th birthday. No wellness plan is available.
Embrace has a feature no other major provider offers: a diminishing deductible that drops $50 every year your dog goes without filing a claim. It rewards the healthy years and makes switching away from Embrace less financially attractive than it might seem โ because your deductible continues shrinking as long as no claim is filed. Coverage includes breed-specific hereditary conditions and alternative therapies. Every policy includes access to PawSupport โ a 24/7 pet professional helpline for behavior, diet, and potential emergency guidance. Its Wellness Rewards add-on functions more like a flexible health spending account than a pre-approved item list โ nearly any routine care expense qualifies up to your annual allotment. Embrace’s phone number: 1-800-779-1539. Available in all states except Maine.
Spot covers curable pre-existing conditions once your dog has been symptom-free for 180 days โ one of the clearest and most enforced versions of this benefit in the industry. If your dog had an ear infection, UTI, or similar treatable issue before enrollment, Spot’s process for reclassifying those conditions is among the most transparent. Exam fees are included in standard coverage. The plan menu covers accident-and-illness and accident-only options, with two tiers of optional wellness. Spot is available in all 50 states, Washington D.C., Guam, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Canada โ the broadest geographic reach in this list. It also includes a 10% multi-pet discount. Coverage extends to prescription food for covered conditions, physical therapy, and behavioral conditions.
Pets Best is the standout choice for owners of older dogs because it sets no upper age limit for enrollment. Every other major competitor caps enrollment somewhere between 10 and 14 years. Pets Best also offers an accident-only plan for around $16 per month nationally โ a genuine option for households with tight budgets who want protection against the catastrophic single event (hit by a car, swallowed object requiring surgery, toxic ingestion) without paying for illness coverage. Curable pre-existing conditions become eligible after 180 symptom-free days, consistent with Spot and ASPCA. Exam fee coverage is available as an optional add-on. A 5% multi-pet discount applies. Processing times can be longer during high-volume periods โ plan around that for non-emergency claims.
Lemonade built its product around speed: roughly 40% of claims are reimbursed instantly through AI-powered review that processes submitted photos, invoices, and policy records without a human reviewer. For routine claims this means same-day payment. The app experience is genuinely well-designed โ a quote takes about 90 seconds. Coverage is highly customizable with four wellness add-on levels plus optional add-ons for behavioral conditions, dental illness, physical therapy, and end-of-life care. One structural limitation to know: Lemonade’s deductible range is $100โ$750, narrower than some competitors, and it uses birthday pricing โ premiums increase automatically as your dog ages, sometimes by meaningful amounts year over year. Available in 42 states and D.C. Lemonade is a certified B-Corp that donates unclaimed underwriting profit to nonprofits selected by policyholders.
Figo includes 24/7 veterinary telehealth in every policy โ useful for the 10 PM question that would otherwise mean a stressful and expensive ER decision. Its cloud-based Pet Cloud system stores your dog’s health records, which a vet can access quickly during an emergency visit. Three plan tiers (Essential, Preferred, Ultimate) offer increasing coverage with optional “Powerup” add-ons. All plans include alternative therapy coverage โ acupuncture, hydrotherapy, chiropractic โ in the standard policy rather than as an upsell, which benefits dogs recovering from orthopedic surgery or managing mobility issues. Figo also offers a military discount not available from most competitors and a 5% multi-pet discount. Contact: 1-844-738-3446, MonโFri 7 AMโ7 PM CT, Sat 7:30 AMโ4 PM CT.
ASPCA Pet Health Insurance (underwritten by Independence American Insurance Company) includes exam fees, dental illness, behavioral conditions, and alternative therapies in the standard coverage without requiring separate add-ons โ a meaningful distinction when comparing total coverage cost. Curable pre-existing conditions become eligible after 180 symptom-free days. Available in all 50 states and D.C. The ASPCA brand carries significant recognition and trust, though it’s worth knowing the insurance product is separate from the ASPCA animal welfare charity. Wellness add-on tiers cover a clear list including heartworm prevention, vaccines, and dental cleanings. The company’s claims line is separate from its general number โ ask specifically for claims support when calling about a pending reimbursement.
Nationwide is the largest pet insurer in the U.S. by policyholder count and offers the widest range of plan structures โ from accident-only to comprehensive whole-pet wellness policies that cover a percentage of costs across nearly all conditions and routine care. It is the only major provider that also covers exotic pets: birds, reptiles, small mammals. Nationwide is notably available as a voluntary employee benefit through many employers โ if your workplace offers Nationwide pet insurance as a payroll-deduction benefit, group rates are often meaningfully lower than individual direct quotes. Ask HR directly before going the individual route. According to HR Dive, pet insurance is now among the fastest-growing voluntary employee benefits โ check before assuming you have to shop direct.
Fetch’s Adoption Support program is the clearest differentiator in this list: it waives waiting periods and covers a defined list of common shelter-acquired conditions (kennel cough, conjunctivitis, ear mites, upper respiratory infections) for the life of the policy when you enroll a newly adopted pet immediately. This directly addresses the frustrating gap where a rescue dog arrives with common kennel conditions that most other insurers immediately exclude as pre-existing. Standard Fetch coverage includes telehealth access, prescription drug coverage, dental illness (not just dental accidents), and complementary therapies. Fetch also covers pet boarding costs up to $1,000 per year if you’re hospitalized for 4+ days โ a benefit not available from most competitors. Fetch protects over 550,000 pets in the U.S. as of April 2026.
These are the features people compare most before choosing a provider. Confirm current details directly โ terms and offerings change. Data reflects published policies as of mid-2026.
| Provider | Exam Fees | No Annual Limit | Wellness Add-On | Curable Pre-Existing | Upper Age Limit | Direct Vet Pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Trupanion | โ Not covered | โ Unlimited | โ No | โ No | None stated | โ VetDirect Pay |
| Healthy Paws | โ Not covered | โ Unlimited | โ No | โ No | 14 yrs | Optional (newer) |
| Embrace | โ Included | Optional | โ Flexible HSA-style | โ No | Not stated | โ No |
| Spot | โ Included | Optional | โ 2 tiers | โ 180 days | Not stated | โ No |
| Pets Best | Add-on | Optional | โ Yes | โ 180 days | โ None | โ No |
| Lemonade | โ Included | Optional | โ 4 options | โ No | Not stated | โ No |
| Figo | โ Included | Highest tier | โ Yes | โ No | Not stated | โ No |
| ASPCA | โ Included | Optional | โ Yes | โ 180 days | Not stated | โ No |
| Nationwide | โ Included | Some plans | โ Yes | โ 6 months | Not stated | โ No |
| Fetch | โ Included | Optional | โ No | Adoption Support* | Not stated | โ No |
* Fetch’s Adoption Support waives waiting periods for specific shelter-acquired conditions when enrolling immediately upon adoption. Verify all current details directly with each provider before enrolling โ terms change without notice.
The exclusions section is where frustration lives after a claim denial. These aren’t surprises buried in the contract โ they’re standard across nearly every policy. Knowing them before you enroll changes everything.
- Pre-existing conditions โ anything documented in the vet record before enrollment or during the waiting period. Symptoms count; a formal diagnosis is not required to trigger the exclusion.
- Breeding, pregnancy, whelping, and nursing โ no standard plan covers reproductive costs (Trupanion offers a Breeding Rider add-on as a partial exception).
- Cosmetic procedures โ ear cropping, tail docking, and dewclaw removal for non-medical reasons.
- Grooming โ baths, nail trims, de-matting, and often even medicated shampoos when the primary purpose is categorized as grooming.
- Elective procedures โ anything classified as optional rather than medically necessary by the treating veterinarian.
- Exam fees โ the office visit charge is excluded by Trupanion and Healthy Paws by default. Across multiple annual vet visits this adds up to $300โ$700 per year out-of-pocket.
- Orthopedic conditions during the waiting period โ if your dog shows any sign of lameness in the first 6โ12 months of coverage, the entire category of orthopedic injuries may be permanently excluded as a pre-existing presentation.
- Dental disease vs. dental accidents โ most standard plans cover a broken tooth (accident) but not periodontal disease, root canal infections, or tooth extractions due to decay (disease). ASPCA, Fetch, and some Nationwide plans are exceptions.
- Bilateral condition exclusions โ if one hip or one knee is excluded as pre-existing, many policies extend that exclusion to the same joint on the other side of the body, even if that side was healthy at enrollment.
- Prescription diets โ even when a vet prescribes therapeutic food to manage a covered condition, the food itself is excluded by most providers. Trupanion and Spot are notable exceptions for confirmed covered conditions.
Enroll at 8 weeks old โ ideally before the first vet visit. Every exam note, vaccine record, and health observation that gets added to your puppy’s file from that first appointment forward becomes part of the documented history insurers will review. A clean record at enrollment means full coverage for everything that follows. For year one specifically, Lemonade’s puppy preventive package and Embrace’s Wellness Rewards plan both cover the vaccine series, spay or neuter, and microchipping meaningfully. Avoid the highest deductibles in puppyhood โ first-year emergency vet visits are common enough that a lower deductible ($250 or less) pays off quickly.
Enroll the day you bring the dog home โ not after the first vet appointment. The moment a vet notes anything in the record, that condition becomes a potential pre-existing exclusion. Fetch’s Adoption Support program was specifically built for this: it waives waiting periods and covers kennel cough, ear mites, conjunctivitis, and upper respiratory infections for the life of the policy if you enroll immediately. For any more significant health issue the rescue disclosed at adoption, call Spot, ASPCA, or Nationwide first โ these three have the clearest and most established processes for evaluating curable pre-existing conditions and may cover them after a 180-day symptom-free period.
Get a fresh vet exam before applying and ask for a written current-health summary. That document becomes your baseline โ it protects against claims being denied based on ambiguous prior records. Then get quotes from Pets Best (no age limit), Spot, and ASPCA, and ask each company for a written list of exclusions based on your dog’s specific records before paying a premium. The math still works for a healthy senior with no serious ongoing conditions: a cancer diagnosis at 11 can cost $5,000โ$10,000 in treatment. A $70/month premium over 18 months is $1,260 โ far less than one of those events.
Enroll now anyway. The new diagnosis is a pre-existing condition for that specific disease โ it won’t be covered. But your dog can still be insured for every other new condition that develops after enrollment. A different organ failing, an unrelated injury, eye conditions, new infections โ all of these are coverable at a new policy if they’re genuinely new. Don’t wait, because every additional day of delay risks more conditions being documented. Ask any provider you’re considering to confirm in writing exactly which conditions are excluded and which remain coverable for your dog specifically.
Start with an accident-only plan. Pets Best’s accident-only option averages about $16 per month nationally. It won’t cover illness โ no cancer, no diabetes, no chronic conditions โ but it covers the catastrophic single-event scenarios most likely to generate a bill you genuinely can’t handle: car accident, swallowed foreign object requiring surgery, toxic ingestion, bite wound needing repair. These events regularly cost $2,000โ$6,000 and happen to otherwise healthy young dogs. If you can stretch to $30โ$40/month, step up to a low-deductible accident-and-illness plan. Priority order: keep the deductible low enough that you can actually pay it in an emergency, then adjust the reimbursement percentage secondarily.
Switching carries a hidden cost: every condition your dog has been treated for under your current policy becomes pre-existing at the new company. A condition covered at your current insurer is suddenly excluded at the next one. Before switching, request a complete list from your current insurer of every condition on file โ these all become exclusions at the new provider. Ask the new company how they handle those specific conditions before you commit. For a dog with ongoing or chronic conditions, switching is rarely worth it. For a dog that’s been healthy throughout the current policy period and you’re primarily moving for better pricing, switching can make sense โ just run the exclusion math first.
Before applying anywhere, have your vet conduct a current wellness exam and ask for a written summary of your dog’s current health status. Keep this document permanently โ it serves as your baseline protection against claims being denied for conditions labeled as pre-existing. Some companies ask for it during claim review, and a document pre-dated before enrollment significantly strengthens your position in a dispute.
Use the same deductible, reimbursement rate, and annual limit in every quote so you’re comparing equivalent coverage. Then compare not just the monthly premium but what you’d actually receive on a $5,000 claim after the deductible and reimbursement math is done. Premium differences of $20โ$40 per month for identical coverage are common โ quote widely. Per MoneyGeek’s analysis of 67,000+ dog profiles, the spread between the cheapest and most expensive providers for the same dog and configuration can exceed $50/month.
Call the company’s claims department โ not the sales team โ and ask: “If my dog develops [your breed’s most common condition] after enrollment, how is that handled?” Large breeds: ask about orthopedic coverage. Golden Retrievers: ask about cancer coverage specifically. French Bulldogs: ask about brachycephalic respiratory and cardiac conditions. The sales team’s answer and the claims team’s answer sometimes differ in meaningful ways. You want the claims team’s version of the truth before you commit.
Every provider will send you a sample policy document before enrollment. Read the “What We Do Not Cover” section in full. Look for: bilateral condition language, how they define “pre-existing symptoms” (symptoms vs. diagnoses are treated differently at different companies), orthopedic waiting period length, and whether exam fees are included or excluded. The website’s “comprehensive coverage” claim often narrows considerably when you reach the exclusions section of the actual policy language.
Set a phone reminder for each waiting period: 2โ5 days for accidents, 14 days for illness, and 6โ12 months for orthopedic coverage depending on your provider. Many owners don’t realize orthopedic coverage isn’t active for months after enrollment โ then schedule a surgery before it’s covered. This also applies to the 180-day window at Spot, ASPCA, and Pets Best: on day 181 with no recurrence of a previously excluded condition, review your policy โ that condition may now be eligible for coverage.
This guide is for informational purposes only and does not constitute insurance advice or a recommendation to purchase any specific product. The national average of approximately $70/month for accident-and-illness dog insurance reflects the NAPHIA 2026 State of the Industry Report. The Insurify median of $43/month reflects June 2026 data. The 37% debt statistic reflects the American Animal Hospital Association 2025 survey data. The 4.27% insured pet penetration rate is from NAPHIA’s 2026 State of the Industry Report covering year-end 2025. Provider premium ranges are estimates โ your actual quote will vary by dog’s age, breed, ZIP code, and coverage configuration. Contact and policy details are verified from each provider’s published information as of mid-2026 but are subject to change. Always read the full policy document and verify current terms directly with each provider before enrolling. Content is entirely original and written independently.